Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Florida yank finally posting after lurking for ~2+ years. 21:47 - Aug 16 with 2387 viewsStpeteR

How a brief experience at Loftus Road created a lifelong fan...

I had the good fortune of securing a work exchange permit while at college in the summer of 1993. I found myself working in the city for 9 months and as a young football player myself, seeking advice from my work mates as to which team/stadium to see in the top flight. The consensus among the office was that QPR were playing excellent football with Les leading the line and were excellent value for money (I was a very poor student).

I attended 2 games in that season, taking in a win vs Sheffield and a draw vs Norwich. I was such a naive soul as to ask where I could purchase a pint at that first Sheffield match. Well, the atmosphere hooked me and I never looked back.

I moved to the Tampa Bay area a few years later and found a devouted following of Tampa Bay Rowdies fans who idolized Rodney Marsh and it all seemed to dovetail nicely.

Unfortunately in those pre-internet days, EPL, let alone lower division, scores were hard to come by and satellite TV was your only hope for top flight european footy over here. 20+yrs on and we Yanks are awash in International footy these days.

Perhaps it is that I am a stubborn fool but as those around me celebrated their adopted big teams I was more than happy to support the R's despite the strange looks. Nothing better to puzzle an Englishman abroad than to find a Yank footy fan who knows all the top teams and players and supports QPR.