Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Boring laptop questions, anti virus etc 20:48 - Oct 29 with 5452 viewskarl

What is best free anti virus etc?
Basic windows 10 laptop not really used for much other than a little bit of Open University stuff, web browsing, Now TV and kids play a few online games (real kids stuff as 10 and 6 yr old).
There's no 'adult' stuff (honest!)
Seems to have something infected on it as when you click on a link quite often you get a page open very much like you have on the streaming football sites.
Keep it simple please as i have got very little tech knowledge!
Thanks

Edit. Its a laptop. Told you i was crap at Tech side!
[Post edited 29 Oct 2016 20:50]
Boring pc questions, anti virus etc on 03:43 - Oct 31 with 1653 viewsarona

Boring pc questions, anti virus etc on 20:55 - Oct 29 by karl

Thanks Brook, i'll give it a go

There are many malware tools available in the market, and most of them can be used to deal with malware. However, not every tool can detect and remove all types of malware threats. Hence, sometimes you need to install different tools on your PC. Below I will list several tools that I find useful in dealing with malware.

- CCleaner - CCleaner 5.21.5700 - Useful tool for cleaning out all the crap that has built up on your computer from general use. This helps to decrease the amount of files that are scanned and can greatly speed up scanning.

- Malwarebytes Anti-Malware - https://www.malwarebytes.com/antimalware/ - One of the best removal tools out there right now.

- SuperAntiSpyware - SuperAntiSpyware 6.0.1224 - Another great removal tool

- SuperAntiSpyware Portable Scanner! - SUPERAntiSpyware - SUPERAntiSpyware Portable Scanner - This is the same SAS scanner and removal engine in a portable formfactor that does not require installation on the infected system. Haven't had a chance to use this in the wild yet but looks promising.