Please log in or register. Registered visitors get fewer ads.
Forum index | Previous Thread | Next thread
Good Reads Reprised... 20:24 - May 30 with 1321 viewsMrSheen

I'm just getting started on Dominic Sandbrook's "Seasons in the Sun", about Britain during the Labour governments of 1974-79; it's the the third or fourth in a series he has written. Although he has now taken over from Niall Ferguson as the Daily Mail's historian in residence, it's a very entertaining and eclectic read, drawing on diaries, newspapers, interviews and popular culture, to give a picture of an era I can just only dimly understood - I was 10 in 1974. While I remember some of the things mentioned, others have been shocking to me, eg the Ulster Workers' Strike and the warfare within Harold Wilson's private office (Wilson's doctor offered to poison his secretary Marcia Williams as he considered her a malign influence).
Good Reads Reprised... on 20:34 - May 30 with 1311 viewsCroydonCaptJack

That sounds interesting. I am the same age as you so don't remember a lot. Power cuts is about all.
Good Reads Reprised... on 20:41 - May 30 with 1304 viewsMrSheen

Good Reads Reprised... on 20:34 - May 30 by CroydonCaptJack

That sounds interesting. I am the same age as you so don't remember a lot. Power cuts is about all.

Very entertaining and easy read. Sandbrook is a Wolves fan, so he always finds a way to get them in and have a dig at Albion. He might struggle when he gets to 1983-88.
Good Reads Reprised... on 05:40 - May 31 with 1253 viewstimcocking

Matterhorn i read recently, good book i thought. Novel about the Vietnam war as written from the point of view of a platoon sergeant or whatever. A novel, but written by the man who was the sergeant in real life, so really grim and realistic.
Good Reads Reprised... on 09:13 - May 31 with 1217 viewsnadera78